E-Bikes And E-Scooters
In September 2026, Orange County commissioners passed the Micromobility Ordinance, which set the rules for riding privately owned e-bikes, motorized scooters, and similar devices.
Key Points:
-
Most e-bikes and e-scooters are permitted on county-maintained sidewalks, shared-use paths, bike facilities and roadways.
-
Unless otherwise posted, the speed limit is 10 miles per hour on sidewalks and shared-use paths, and 20 miles per hour on roadways, shoulders, bike lanes, bike paths and trails.
-
Electric motorcycles or e-motos must be registered in the State of Florida and drivers must have a driver’s license with motorcycle endorsement.
-
Street takeovers, stunt driving and reckless operation are prohibited.
-
Violations may result in civil citations, and fines.
Know the rules, know your device, share the space and ride responsibility. Together, we can help create a safer Orange County for everyone.
Know The Difference
Class 1 E-Bike
-
20 MPH Limit
-
Pedal Assisted
-
No Assistance Without Pedaling
-
Same Bike Rules and Access
-
No Age Restriction
Class 2 E-Bike
-
20 MPH Limit
-
Throttle Assisted
-
Can Be Ridden Without Pedaling
-
Same Bike Rules and Access
-
No Age Restriction
Class 3 E-Bike
-
28 MPH Limit
-
No Assistance Without Pedaling
-
No Assistance Without Pedaling
-
Usage Area Restricted and Helmet Required
-
Age Restricted
E-Motorcycle
-
40MPH to 60MPH
-
Do Not Have Pedals
-
Not Permited on Sidewalks or Bike Trails
-
Equivalent to Gas Powered Motorcycles Under the Law
-
Require Driver License, Plate and Insurance
E-Bike FAQ
What is considered an electric bicycle?
An electric bicycle is a bicycle or tricycle equipped with fully operable pedals, a seat or saddle for the rider, and an electric motor of less than 750 watts.
What are the types of e-bikes and how fast can they go?
- Class 1: Pedal-assist only. The motor helps while you pedal and stops assisting at 20 mph.
- Class 2: Pedal-assist and a throttle. The motor can propel the bike without pedaling and stops assisting at 20 mph.
- Class 3: Pedal-assist only. The motor helps while you pedal and stops assisting at 28 mph.
Do I need to wear a helmet?
Yes, riders under the age of 16 must wear a properly fitted and secured helmet.
What are the age and helmet requirements?
- Helmets: Mandatory for all riders and passengers under 16 years old on any e-bike.
- Minimum Age: Riders must be at least 16 years old to operate a Class 3 e-bike. There is no statewide minimum age for Class 1 and Class 2 e-bikes, though local ordinances may apply .
What about an e-moto or electric motorcycle?
An e-moto or electric motorcycle is not a micromobility device. It is considered an electric vehicle powered by an electric motor or other power source beyond 750 watts and capable of exceeding 28 mph.
They are prohibited from operating on county sidewalks, shared-use paths, bicycle paths, bicycle lanes, trails, and other multi-use paths.
Those operating these devices must be registered in the State of Florida, have insurance, and drivers must have a driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement.
Adding pedals to your e-motorcycle will not classify it as an e-bike.
Where can I ride an e-bike?
You can ride your electric bicycle on roadways, shoulders, bike lanes, bike paths, and trails, but pay attention to posted signage.
What about sidewalks and shared-use paths?
Unless clearly posted otherwise, you may operate e-bikes on shared-use paths and sidewalks, but no more than 10 miles per hour.
Also, be sure to yield the right-of-way to pedestrians and give an audible signal before overtaking or passing others sharing the path with you.
Where Can I learn about bike laws?
To learn about bike laws, you can visit the link provided below.
As a parent where can I find more information?
The Parental E-Bike Guide is available on the Florida Bicycle Association Website.